Write 101 Day 10 [My Hungry Thoughts.]

Friday 13th June 2014.

writing-101-june-2014-class-badge-2

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_assignment/writing-101-day-ten/

Tell us about your favorite childhood meal — the one that was always a treat, that meant “celebration,” or that comforted you and has deep roots in your memory.   Free free to focus on any aspect of the meal, from the food you ate to the people who were there to the event it marked.  Today’s twist: Tell the story in your own distinct voice.

clip_image001.gif

 

 

 

Day 10 – My Hungry Thoughts.

Words..482

Gaa/C June 2014.

Another day gone, I waited for my brother, we always walked home from school together. Today the sun was shining but it was still very cold, the past couple of days had been very frosty in the morning. It would only take us about fifteen minutes to get home, through the village and along the gravel road, into the small path passing the local football ground and then into our road. Our house was about half way down, opposite was a huge oak tree.

We walked in the back door and the normal sight of seeing mum preparing and cooking dinner. Both me and brother went into the front room and I shouted “what’s for dinner mum?”

“Tomato and cheese spaghetti, followed with rhubarb crumble.”

I would help my mum make it and went into the kitchen to see what she was doing. Preparing tomato’s by skinning them and then grating cheese, boiling up the spaghetti. “You can prepare the rhubarb if you like.” mum said. I then did as she had shown me and finished by cutting them into small chunks. I am yet to learn how to make the crumble, mother had already done this. She finished putting the spaghetti and cheese and tomato together and then place the dish in the oven. She then prepared another dish and then filled it with the rhubarb and topped it with the crumble. I have always loved this dinner especially the rhubarb with home made custard. Yum, Yum!

I use to help my mother with her cooking, she was a great cook, she use to do it for a local hotel and person who she worked for. I enjoyed baking mostly, doing sponges and fruit cakes and then decorating them. It was always a great feeling when people ate it and said how good it was.

My mother started to wash up and I assisted by doing the drying and putting away, all the time smelling the aroma of the food in the oven cooking.

“Mmm I am so hungry mum.” I would say.

It wont be long now, dad should be home shortly and we can sit down and eat.” my mum would say. she was always cooking to meet dads coming home from a days work in the factory.

Right on time my dad would turn up at the time of 5.30pm, and mum was serving up the dinner. She would not let me help because of the hot dishes.

I always did and have loved this dinner, we all sat down together and ate our dinner.

“Dad, what’s for dinner?” my daughter shouted, jogging me out of my dreaming thoughts.

“Tomato and cheese spaghetti, and just for a treat I have done rhubarb crumble for afters.”

“Oh good, my favourite dad.” she shouted back.

Gaa/C© Friday 13th June 2014

2014 signature

thank-you09_thumb.jpg

writing-hell0.jpg

9 Comments

Filed under Challenges, Personal, Uncategorized, What-ever!

9 responses to “Write 101 Day 10 [My Hungry Thoughts.]

  1. Nicely done – the warmth of the kitchen as a kid – waiting and smelling it – the twist at the end made it a very clever story!

  2. Pingback: WPC – Extra, Extra. « Restawyle

  3. We never had spaghetti when I was a kid. You adventurous southerners. Trying to think of my favourite meal. Steak and kidney pie maybe? Or home cooked fish and chips? Too many good meals to choose from.

  4. Good story, Gerry. I could see and smell everything. And I loved that your daughter brought the memory right up to the present time. I think your writing gets better and better all the time.

  5. I was in the kitchen with you, mother and son working together; the smells filling the room, and waiting for Dad before dinner can be served. I love how the story starts with a memory and then ends in the present, having come full circle with your favorite meal – father and daughter together.

    We don’t bake spaghetti, but it sounds like a delicious, comforting meal. I have had apple crumbles and berry crumbles, but never rhubarb.

    • Hey Robin thank you for being there. I do actually make the meal, it did take me several attempts to recapture the taste, but I do think I have got it.. and daughter does enjoy it.. rhubarb was popular because my father used to grow it… we use to cut it and dip in sugar and eat it raw… yum yum. welcome alway Robin. 😉

Do not be shy,,Leave a Reply

