Write 101-Day 17.

Wednesday 25th June 2014.

Personality on a Page.

writing-101-june-2014-class-badge-2Write 101 -Day 17 – We all have anxieties, worries, and fears. What are you scared of? Address one of your worst fears.

Today’s twist: Write this post in a distinct style from your own.

 http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_assignment/writing-101-day-seventeen/

 

clip_image0014_thumb.gif

 

 

Words..553

Gaa/C© June 2014

Water, water everywhere and I steer clear of it. Well not quite true, I just remain a safe distance from the liquid. While my friends, in the past, would arrange and go swimming whether it be swimming pools or the beach, I would always remain home, making my excuses. As it was swimming bored me, and sun bathing on the beach was and still is to me a complete and utter waste of time. Nothing is more boring than sitting on the beach trying to get skin cancer. But my fear is water and has been for as long as I can remember.

One hot summers day my mother packed a picnic and took us down to the river, this part of our local river was like a mini beach, pebble shingle and a variety of depths to paddle or swim. The water was clean fresh and cool, and was a very popular meeting place for local families and very safe for their children. The main advantage of this part of the river was that the parents always had their children in view.

I was about eight years of age, and playing happily in the water with friends and my brother. All was going well, laughing and enjoying the water, running in and of the water, stopping for a sandwich and a drink and back into the water. I was happy in the water until an accident happened and I think it was this that put me off water ever since. I fell and lost control and submerged, completely underwater, I then scrambled about in a panic. A friend nearby pulled me up out of the water and I went and sat on the river bank. Not really knowing or understanding what had happened, all I do know is, I never went near water again. Needless to say I have never learnt to swim, I did however make sure my daughter learnt to swim and she loves the water. She swims well, like a fish as the saying goes. Yeh right!

A little contradiction is I love boats and being on the water in boats, the small ones can be scary, but the bigger ones, like ferries and cruise liners and yachts I love and enjoy the sailing. Not sure what would happen if the boats hit a problem, how I would react, my calm and relaxed persona would possibly fly out the porthole.

For awhile I fitted cookers and heaters into boats of various sizes and getting to some were a little risky to say the least. To get to some of these yachts the supply of small rubber dinghy or inflatable crafts were used and these frightened the pants off me. Walking along beaches and coast lines is a hobby of mine enjoying the views and looking out to the sea, but I always remain a good distance.

I use to enjoy walking in the rain, that cool refreshing feeling was so invigorating. But swimming pools and coastal beach bathing is not for me, much else about water is okay.

Gaa/C June 25th 2014

2014 signature

thank-you09_thumb.jpg

hell-3291.jpg

 

 

9 Comments

Filed under Challenges, Uncategorized, What-ever!

9 responses to “Write 101-Day 17.

  1. I did enjoy. Thank you for sharing.

  2. It’s funny what can terrify us. For me it’s Doctors. I am scared to death of them and avoid them unless I’m absolutely crippled or sick enough to be compliant when people drag me.

    These fears DEF stem from childhood. I had a mean and nasty pediatrician around the age of 8 (that must be an impressionable age when fears imprint?) I had a horrible sore throat with infected tonsils and that sadist pushed the big flat popsicle stick onto my tonsil so hard that it bled. and by blood, I don’t mean a drop, I mean it filled my mouth and then poured into the sink, while he mocked me and claimed I “needn’t get hysterical.”
    I ended up in the e.r. with a tonsillectomy later that afternoon because they said the tonsil had ruptured. Of course it had!
    Sadly this was in the pre-litigious era of 1964. Had this happened to one of my kids in the 1990s I’d have sued the bastard for all he was worth!
    What a terrible excuse for an M.D.!

    After that event, my parents switched me to a different practice and the doctor was gentle and kind but the damage was done. I’ve been suspicious and frightened of every single Doc since!

    • Wow what a comment and story, I cannot blame you with that experience I understand why you have these fears, with me doctors have never been a problem as my life has doctors etc regularly involved and all were good to me. I do have a fear for dentists no reason why just the noise I think. I fully agree if something like happened to my daughter the law courts would been used,, there is no excuse nowadays… Thank you Karen for the time to write this comment I love reading other peoples stories as well. Welcome always and thanks.. 😉

  3. You scored big in writing other than your own voice and wrote an interesting story to boot. 🙂

  4. You really did make us see and feel your experience as a child, Gerry. I can totally understand your aversion to being in large bodies of water after that. Glad to know you still like walking in the rain though. I love that special feeling when the rain is soft and slow.

    • I do enjoy the rain especially in the summer when warmer,, and for now I will stick to walking the beaches and taking in the views….. Welcome always Sandra. 😉

Do not be shy,,Leave a Reply

