Write 101-Day 19

Friday 27th June 2014.

Don’t Stop the Rockin’

writing-101-june-2014-class-badge-2Today is a free writing day. Write at least four-hundred words, and once you start typing, don’t stop. No self-editing, no trash-talking, and no second guessing: just go. Bonus points if you tackle an idea you’ve been playing with but think is too silly to post about.

On this free writing day, remember the words of author Anne Lamott: “I don’t think you have time to waste not writing because you are afraid you won’t be good at it.”

Write 101-Don’t Stop the Rockin’

Day 19

Words.. [89][687]

Gaa/C©

clip_image001.gif

My car had broken down and I was in need of help. My friend and I was going nowhere unless one or both of us went to seek help. We had been caught out by the weather, the snow was falling hard, this was not in the forecast when we left for our home journey. We both decided to set off and look for help, whether it be a garage or phone to get a garage out to repair my car or the finding of somewhere to stay. With this weather getting worse the finding somewhere to stay was a better idea. We walked a few miles and noticed a sign post pointing to our left telling us of a village, Wolfriding, two miles. I said to my friend that I have never heard of this place, and he said the same, but we must see if there is a hotel or phone hopefully both. The snow was getting heavier and making our walking harder. It was laying on the ground and getting deeper.

We came upon a small log cabin set across the river, a very picturesque cabin, covered in snow, surrounded by a small wooden fence. The small bridge spanning the river leading onto a path that led up to a small gate. We could see lights on in the cabin, we paused and no words needed we both headed for the cabin.

“There is someone in, see these prints.” I said pointing to the markings in the snow leading up to the front door. The odd thing was the prints came from the direction of the woods. I kept this thought to myself, but I expect he thought the same.

I knocked on the door, I could hear noises inside, but no one was opening the door. I knocked the door again, a little louder the second time.

“Why aren’t they opening?” I said but expecting a reply.

Then we both heard a voice from behind, on looking to see who it was, a little girl standing close. “Hello, grandma is a little slow, she is old you see. My name is Red, I don’t know you do I? I must give this stew to gran before it gets cold. Mummy will not be pleased.” she spoke fast and worried. She opened the door and went inside, we both followed, “We was wondering if you had a phone we could use!”

Before we could react a man tried running past us, carrying a holdall, but as he ran through the doorway he slipped on the snow and ended up on his back. I ran after him and after a short tussle I had overpowered him. My friend and I then tied him to a chair.

The little girl found her grandma tied to her bed blindfolded and gagged, she was a little scared but otherwise unharmed.

I made a phone call to the police and to a garage, who would get to my car in a couple of hours. The little girls grandma said we could stay there until it is repaired.

The police arrived shortly and took him away, “Did you see how ugly that guy was, his teeth and ears so large, not being nasty but he certainly looked scary with his wiry dirty hair as well.” I said to my friend.

The little girl came and spoke to us, “I am going home now, grandma has dished up some stew for you both. Thanks, see ya.” hurrying out she pulled her hood over her head as she went.

Gaa/C© “Thursday6th June 2014

2014 signature

thank-you09.jpg

hell12.jpg

 

 

8 Comments

Filed under Challenges, Novel., Personal, Uncategorized, What-ever!

8 responses to “Write 101-Day 19

  1. I really like your post. Great images in my head. The only thing is the font is really, really hard to read. Maybe it is my old eyes, but you may want to give a more readable font a try. 🙂

  2. To the rescue, two ways. Like how you wove the story into the fairy-tale. :o.

  3. Gerry, this is terrific! I don’t think I would have even thought of doing something like this. Very creative.

Do not be shy,,Leave a Reply

