Write 101 – Day 20. Last One.

Saturday 28th June 2014.

Things We Treasure.

writing-101-june-2014-class-badge-2 Write 101 – Final Day. Tell us the story of your most-prized possession.

It’s the final day of the challenge already?! Let’s make sure we end it with a bang — or, in our case, with some furious collective tapping on our keyboards. For this final assignment, lead us through the history of an object that bears a special meaning to you.

A family heirloom, a flea market find, a childhood memento — all are fair game. What matters is that, through your writing, you breathe life into that object, moving your readers enough to understand its value.

Today’s twist:We extolled the virtues of brevity back on day five, but now, let’s jump to the other side of the spectrum and turn to longform writing. Let’s celebrate the drawn-out, slowly cooked, wide-shot narrative.

clip_image001.gif

Day 20 Things we Treasure.

Words..767

Gaa/C©

This story has been recorded in similar forms before and because it suits this challenge perfectly I have decide to do it again.

I was playing my guitar alone, sitting on my bed, strumming away, if I remember right I hadn’t been playing long so would therefore be trying out some new exercises. These exercises would be scales, trying to loosen my fingers followed by chord progressions, and finishing with a couple of newly learnt songs.

Mother appeared at the door and stood listening for a few minutes, then she came in, “Here, I think it is the right time.” she then handed me a violin case.

“This violin has been with me since I was thirteen, and I played it many time in concerts with a small orchestra. I also played it at Southampton Guildhall in 1937 and 38 when I was about your age. I did a solo piece and a duet with a young man I used to know well at the time. His name is Norman Spracklin, unfortunately I believe he was killed in the war. And as you are following my interest in music by playing a guitar I want you to have my instrument and hope you will look after it but please do what you feel. I don’t think it worth in monetary terms, maybe you might learn to play it a little bit.” She took the violin out and handed it to me, and after looking it over and feeling it I gave it back to her, “Can you tune it for me?” I asked.

I then witnessed the most amazing thing ever, even to this day, my mother then proceeded to tune the violin, with no aids, and then played God save the Queen our National anthem. I was so knocked back and impressed I started to embarrass my mother.

“Not bad, it was over thirty years since I played anything on this violin, I am surprised the strings held out. Hang there for a moment I got something else I would like to pass over to you.” she left and returned about ten minutes later and handed me some documents. There were two music certificates and a three woodworking certificates.

“The music ones was for when I played in a competition and won the soloist section and came second in the duet category. I played with my friend Norman, that I have mentioned. He was an excellent violinist, I am sure if he survived the war he would have been famous in an orchestra travelling the world.” she then picked up the woodwork certificates. ” These I was awarded for my skills during the war where I was building gun boats at Bucklers Hard for the war effort. I learnt how to build the frames and interior and it was for these skills that the certificates were given to me. I had some lovely memories from that time, it was there I first met your dad.” She started to look a little emotional, sad maybe.

She started to leave when she turned and said, “I have never told anyone before but Norman very nearly became my husband, if he returned from his war effort,” she paused, “Well never mind he never came back. Anyway, I have had some good moments with the instrument. It is yours to do as you wish, just promise me you will look after it and give it a new home.” she then left and I was sitting on my bed alone with all sorts of thoughts going on in my head. I still have her violin and certificates after 45 years, the instrument is nearly a 100 years old, and I still cannot play it.

Gaa/C© Saturday 28th June 2014.

2014 signature

thank-you09.jpg

hell-3291.jpg

11 Comments

Filed under Challenges, Novel., Personal, Uncategorized, What-ever!

11 responses to “Write 101 – Day 20. Last One.

  1. I really enjoyed your story about your mother’s “secret” violin. I would have liked to have been in your place to hear her play. I have to ask, why didn’t you ever learn the violin?

  2. What a beautiful story. I’m so glad you still have it . 🙂

  3. Aah, the secrets our parents hold close. This is an inspiring story. Did your mom shock you? She never played the violin after you were born? If so, what a shame.

Do not be shy,,Leave a Reply

